SKIP navigation
College of Education

This page's main content:

UNO College of Education

Conceptual Framework


Full Conceptual Framework Report (pdf - 908 kb)

Some Sections:

     The University
     The College of Education

Vision and Mission
     UNO Mission Statement
     UNO Vision Statement
     UNO Values Statement
     College of Education Mission Statement
     College of Education Vision Statement
     College of Education Strategic Goals

Philosophy, Purpose and Goals
     Central Principle: Dedicated Practitioners
     Central Principle: Reflective Scholars
     Central Principle: Responsible Citizens

The University

The University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO) is part of the Nebraska University system that also includes the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, the University of Nebraska-Kearney, and the University of Nebraska Medical Center. The system is governed by an elected state Board of Regents that has designated UNO the metropolitan university for the state.

UNO is located in Nebraska’s largest city. Omaha is a vibrant, thriving community that is home to several Fortune 500 companies, manufacturing industries, insurance companies, telephone reservation centers, data processing centers, and educational institutions. The city has lively arts, entertainment, and sports environments. Omaha is proud of its rich cultural diversity. Along with eastern and western European populations, Omaha is also home to large numbers of African-American, Hispanic, Sudanese, Hmong, Korean, Asian-Pacific Rim, Native American and other peoples. Through the Metropolitan Omaha Educational Consortium (MOEC), the university works with seven public school districts in the greater Omaha area. These districts serve over 100,000 P-12 students and their families. Over 50 different languages are represented in the school populations.

UNO is proud to be a member of the Coalition of Urban & Metropolitan Universities. UNO embraces and strives to advance the fundamental principles of this organization (See: http://cumu.uc.iupui.edu/.) The university is not just located in the metropolitan community; it is an integral partof and works with the community for the betterment of all.

UNO is made up of seven colleges: Arts and Sciences (A&S), Business Administration (BUS), Communication Fine Arts and Media (CFAM), Education (COE), Information Sciences and Technology (IST), Public Affairs and Community Service (CPACS), and the Graduate College. The university offers 110 bachelor degree programs, 42 master’s programs, and five doctoral programs. The institution is accredited by the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The faculty and administration are committed to meeting rigorous standards of academic quality. Programs throughout the campus hold accreditation from national, professional organizations. The university is a leader in assessing student achievement with a view to making changes and improvements as appropriate. Under the Chancellor’s direction, the university has an on-going strategic planning process that brings together faculty, students, staff, administration, and the community. The strategic plan has three main goals: namely, placing students at the center of the enterprise, providing high quality educational programs, and actively engaging in the community.



The College of Education

The College of Education (COE) is organized into five academic areas. Candidates may select from programs in counseling (COUN), educational administration and supervision (EDAD), health, physical education and recreation (HPER), special education and communication disorders (SECD), and teacher education (TED). The college offers bachelors, masters, specialist, and doctoral degree programs, as well as graduate certificates in urban schools, instructional technology, and early childhood auditory-oral education of deaf/hard of hearing. The college attracts and retains quality candidates with diverse backgrounds. Each semester, the college enrolls approximately 1,200 undergraduate candidates and 800 graduate candidates. Administratively, the School Psychology program is not a part of COE. The program is housed in the Department of Psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences. Despite this administrative separation, the School Psychology program maintains close ties with COE. Certification of school psychologists is managed through the COE state certification officer.

The college and programs within the college are accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), the Nebraska State Department of Education (NDE), the Council for Exceptional Children (CEC), the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech Language Pathology (CAA) of the American Speech Language Hearing Association (ASHA), the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP), and the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE). All of the preparation programs adhere to the national standards promulgated by their professional organizations. The School Psychology program (in A&S) is accredited by the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP).

The college’s academic excellence is founded on and realized in the dedication and commitment of its diverse and dynamic faculty and staff. The faculty endorses the broad concept of scholarship that encompasses discovery, integration, and application (See Boyer, 1990). The faculty has a long and distinguished record of achievement in teaching, research/creative activity, and service. Through their performance, faculty members model the ideals of dedicated practitioners, reflective scholars, and responsible citizens that we seek to instill in our candidates.

Based on faculty input and initiative, the college began a comprehensive review/revision of its conceptual framework in spring 2006. An ad hoc review committee was appointed by the Dean to guide the process. The committee included faculty representation from each academic department/school, the Executive Director of the Metropolitan Omaha Educational Consortium (MOEC), and the Associate Dean. Logistical support was provided through the Dean’s Office. The committee solicited input from faculty, students, staff, administrators, and community education partners (MOEC). This document is the result of the work of the committee and the faculty in the college.